If My Life Were My Pregnancy

Posted on

The assignment from Northwest Mommy was to determine the 10 chapters that would be in your autobiography.

My first instinct was to jump right on it, starting with being born in Louisiana and all that jazz. Then I remembered: my blog is about my pregnancy, my baby, and the future. A TRUE autobiography wouldn’t be relevant to my blog. So I closed her site and moved on.

It came back to mind today, and I thought about how pregnancy would just be one chapter in my autobiography. How could I fulfill the assignment and also keep it relevant to the blog?

Then I came up with a scenario: What if my life was just 9 months? What is my whole life was my pregnancy? And from that birthed (wink) the following:

The 10 Chapters of My Autobiography (Life = A Single Pregnancy)

Chapter 1: Birth of a Pregnancy
In August of 2012, my husband and I decided to try having a baby. By the end of September, it was confirmed: we were pregnant with baby number one. This chapter will chronicle the trials of conception, what actually happens when a baby is made (the biology of it), and the anticipation that we felt in the 3 minutes of waiting to see what the pregnancy test said on that Thursday night. It will include the late night run to the store to get a second pregnancy test and the subsequent third test the following morning.

Chapter 2: Sharing the News
Shortly after we found out (aka that night), we called my mom and dad. You’ll read about their reactions. The next day, I mentioned it to one of my coworkers. And throughout the next weeks, we carefully told a few close friends and family members. It wasn’t until the end of the first trimester that I told my students (I knew they would freak out, and I didn’t want to jinx anything).

Chapter 3: Seeing the Fetus
In this chapter, I’ll talk about the first sonogram when we got to see our little munchkin for the first time. This will also cover the first visit with the OB/GYN.

Chapter 4: Symptoms Begin
During the first trimester, symptoms began. They came on slowly but grew to be true enemies of mine. Hunger, I can handle. Tiredness, I was used to. But the nausea? Sore boobs? There wasn’t anything I could do except complain. This chapter will chronicle the symptoms, when they began, how long they lasted, and how intense they were. I’ll also mention some ideas for relief that worked for me.

Chapter 5: A New Wardrobe
Early on, I decided it was best to buy new pants. I didn’t want to squeeze into my “regular” clothes, stretch them out, and then not be able to wear them again after the baby! In this chapter, I will mention Grace, from work, who loaned me bags of maternity clothes. I will talk about my first trip to Motherhood Maternity. I will include my favorite styles and sizes and brands.

Chapter 6: Lack of Excitement
This chapter will be an emotional one. For much of the pregnancy, I was not excited or thrilled to be pregnant. In fact, I was frustrated and negative more than anything. I had the support I needed, but I was not feelin’ it. This chapter will include stories of those ups and downs and how I made it through the emotional side effects I experienced.

Chapter 7: The Giant Woman
It seemed to happen overnight, but when I got big, I got big. And I kept growing. This chapter may end up being that middle section of the book where you only find pictures.

Chapter 8: Anticipation
Near the end of the pregnancy, during this chapter, I will explain the last-minute requirements and responsibilities that come along with pregnancy. This chapter will include the various classes we took, the meetings with the doula, and the setup of the nursery. It will also include my feelings as the arrival date drew near.

Chapter 9: Gifts Galore
This chapter will simply be stories from the multiple baby showers we had. It will include some pictures and also many lists of items I received.

Chapter 10: Death of a Pregnancy
The final chapter in my autobiography will be the “birth story”, which I will call the death of a pregnancy. It fits the theme, yes? It will be explicit and detailed. It will, hopefully, bring closure to all of the chapters before it.

I wonder if this would sell… something to think about 🙂 

2 responses »

  1. I like the term death if a pregnancy, it fits birth and labor pretty well!

    Thank you for linking up to Raising Imperfection! We appreciate you taking the time to link up, make sure to check back on Friday when we feature out favorites.
    Leslie

    Reply
  2. This was very well thought out … I like that you have a theme for each chapter. Very clever!!

    Thank you for linking to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured. 🙂

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

    Reply

Show some love!

