Workout of the Day! (Beast Mode)

Posted on

Today was TOUGH!

First, if you’re interested, here’s the basic workout in a video format. Cameron filmed it on his iPhone (let me just say: he’s a professional video guy who would have used nice equipment and set up tripods and all that, but I just wanted a quick video for my little ole blog). I edited it together in iMovie, which I have never used before tonight. 🙂

Needless to say, it is my masterpiece, and I expect nothing less than honest feedback!

Second, below the video, is the workout in TEXT if you can’t watch the video (or just don’t want to).

Crossfit Pregnancy Workout 4/20/13 from Bethany King on Vimeo.

 

Today’s Workout

After a short warmup, we got going on some weights. I practiced Good Mornings with a 15-pound bar.

Good Mornings: Hold the bar right at your shoulders, behind the neck, push your hips backward, and lean forward until your knees bend a little. It isn’t a full squat. It’s similar to “hips-to-wall” but with weight.

I started with the bar and worked my way up to about 70 pounds. The plates were in kilograms, so I’m not entirely sure. It was comfortable, though, so don’t worry!

We followed that with step-ups onto a small box, using the same weight.

After some strength training, we moved into the conditioning part of the workout:

Rope Climbs (RC) and Pushups

Rep Scheme: Going back and forth between RC and Pushups, I completed 5, 4, 3, 2, then 1 rope climbs, and I completed 2, 4, 6, 8, then 10 pushups.

The baby was into the workout today; he was moving around, and then he was pretty active right afterwards.

Note: People tend to freak out with the heavy weight, but honestly, as long as you aren’t struggling, you are fine. My heart rate stayed low. I didn’t get overheated. And if you feel baby movement within the following half hour, you should be good to go! So, all is well with me and the kid.

And I’m going to be super strong after he’s out because those Good Mornings, for example, were REALLY my “regular” body weight plus 110 pounds. Take that, baby weight!

4 responses »

  1. I think it’s awesome that you posted this. My husband loves and swears by iMovie.

    Reply
  2. Thank you for sharing this post at our ALL MY BLOGGY FRIENDS party !

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Today’s Workout! | Before, During, and After

Show some love!

