34 Weeks Today: A Fun Pregnancy Survey!

Posted on

In general, I love filling out surveys. It’s like taking a test and knowing all the answers.

About You
Name: Bethany

engrade profile pic

Age: 28

Height: 5’5″

Pre-pregnancy weight: 127 lbs

About The Father 
Name: Cameron

Cam at Dianne's wedding

Age: 29 (but 28 when we got pregnant)

Height: 5’9″ (although he likes to TELL people he’s 5’10”)

Are you still together: We’ve been married 1 year, 9 months.

wedding by lockers

About Your Pregnancy
Is this your first pregnancy: Yes!

When did you find out you were pregnant: It was a Thursday night, the night I went to a workshop at Paper Source. I should have started my period the day before, so I decided, on a whim, to pick up a pregnancy test after Paper Source…

Was it planned: It definitely was! I am not a huge fan of spontaneity. I like to stay in control as much as possible!

What was your first reaction: “Uhh, Cam? I think I’m pregnant. Doesn’t that look like the pregnant symbol?” as I showed him the pregnancy test. And he said,
“…Congratulations?” Then we went to the store and got another pregnancy test to be sure.

Who was with you when you found out: Cameron was in the other room, patiently waiting.

Who was the first person you told: Besides Cameron, I immediately called my mom and dad (on FaceTime, so I could see their reactions). I had been telling my mom for a long time that I wasn’t interested in having a baby until I was at least 30. So she did NOT believe me.

How did your parents react: Mom could not believe it. And when they realized I was telling the truth, Mama got embarrassed and started crying. Then my dad just smiled and said Congrats.

How far along are you: I’m 34 weeks.

What was your first symptom: I was super tired and hungry all the time!

What is your due date: June 6, 2013

Do you know the sex of the baby: We are having a little boy.

Have you picked out names: We have a short list!

If so, what are they: We are keeping them a secret.

How much weight have you gained: About 35 pounds!

Do you have stretch marks: Nope! Not yet, anyway.

Have you felt the baby move: This baby is a wild child. He moves around a lot. And now he gets hiccups. 🙂

Have you heard the heartbeat: I have heard it many many times. 🙂

About the birth
Will you keep the baby: Definitely

Home or hospital birth: Hospital

Natural or medicated birth: The plan is all natural, baby.

Who will be in the delivery room with you: Cameron, for sure, and also our doula Candice. I’m not sure who else! My mom MIGHT be there, but she lives many states away and will probably not make it in time.

Will you breastfeed: That’s the plan!

Do you think you’ll need a c-section: I surely hope not.

Will you cry when you hold the baby for the first time: I doubt it 🙂 At the same time, I’ve turned into a big whiny baby since I’ve been pregnant, so the chances are higher these days that I would cry. We shall see. I’m not going to TRY to cry. If it happens, it happens.

What’s the first thing you might say to him: “Well, hi there.”

Would you let someone videotape the birth: As long as it’s Cameron filming, and I get the final say in what happens to the video! I wouldn’t mind seeing/sharing parts of it.

Are you excited about the birth, or scared: You know, I go back and forth. I was scared for a long time. I’m definitely not excited. If anything, “anxious” is the best description. Regardless, I HAVE to go through the process. There’s no getting around it. So being scared is wasted energy.

That was fun! If you’d like to send me your own ideas or feedback, Contact Me!

2 responses »

  1. alisonlumbatis

    Aww, what a cool post! I got a little teary-eyed at your parents’ reactions. How cool! Pregnancy and child birth is truly the most amazing experience and I feel blessed to have three healthy kids! You look gorgeous.

    Reply
  2. This is a lovely post Bethany, this is definitely an awesome stage. I have a 17 month old baby girl and I still remember the day I found out I was pregnant. She wasn’t planned at all but she is absolutely loved with all our hearts, she has been the biggest blessing God has given us. and the day she was born is in my memory just like it happened yesterday! You will see, there is no better moment in our lives that the moment you see her, him for the first time. +D You look so cute with your belly!!!

    Thank you so much for stopping by sharing and linking this up at Bewitch Me & Titi! Hope to have you there tomorrow with a new awesome creation!

    Hope you are having a wonderful weekend so far!

    Hugs
    Cami @ TitiCrafty by Camila

    Reply

Show some love!

