“The Struggle is Real”

Posted on

My students like to say that “the struggle is real” when anything inconvenient happens.

I give them 12 homework problems instead of 10? The struggle is real.

They had to run to catch the bus that morning? The struggle is real.

They have two projects due in the same week? The struggle is real.

Teenagers are funny… I’m glad I’m not birthing a teenager (for a few reasons). I can handle 130 teenagers that AREN’T mine, for short periods of time (like 80 minutes maximum). But I don’t think I’m ready for that jelly.

 

Speaking of struggle….

I had a little bit of a freakout last night. Luckily I’m not someone who really, truly freaks out. Ever. I get a little upset sometimes. I get worked up. But I would never say I’m freaking out.

Last night I started freaking out a little about going through labor.

“Cameron. Tell me what’s going to happen,” I said.

He responded, “Well, you’re going to start contracting. And we’re going to stay here at home for 6-12 hours. Then we’ll call our doula. And we’ll head over to the hospital. And it’s going to be tough, but you’re going to push through, and you’re going to make it. And I’ll be there the entire time. And then we’ll have a baby. All in all, it will take less than a day.”

And then I felt better.

He’s pretty cute sometimes.

7 responses »

  1. Hi there! Just wanted to say thanks for joining in with Lovin’ The Weekend! Glad to meet you. I did just want to say congratulations on your little one. Oh, and don’t freak out! Personally I have a low tolerance for pain, but somehow I have 7 children. Each one was a different experience but so worth it.
    Oh, and happy Mother’s Day.
    Have a great weekend
    Karen
    Tots and Me

    Reply
  2. I Hope you get to have a nice speedy labour especially if this is your first plus you are very lucky to have a supportive husband (I did as well) I was induced with my first due to a high risk pregnancy but I am due in 9 weeks and they are letting me go natural, I am so scared because I don’t know what to expect where as last time I was talked through the whole thing!

    Good Luck!

    Jay
    xo

    Reply
  3. I wish you a ver easy labor like i had, 2 hours from beginning to the time she came into the world, that was 9 years ago. Happy Mothers Day

    Reply
  4. Good luck mama! I didn’t have a great first labour – but the good news is that no matter how bad it is, you get a sweet baby out of it!! I’d do it again in a second.

    Reply
  5. Good Luck!! The first on is definitely the hardest! ~~ Sharon & Denise

    Reply
  6. LOL! The struggle is real. This is what I always tell people about labor and delivery:
    1. It’s always different, because each woman is different.
    2. Imagine the worst and you’ll be prepared. Then when it happens, it won’t be as bad as you thought. =0)

    I hopped over from your fb page, and I’m now following via bloglovin. =0)
    ~Kim
    http://www.2justByou.com

    Reply

Show some love!

