Guest Post: My Mama

Posted on

I asked some friends and family members if they’d write a guest post for me! First responder? My mama, Karen.

Little note about me: I’m the only daughter, and I was the first born. That might give you a little bit of perspective (translation: I’m obviously the favorite). 😉

Here is what my mama has to say! I didn’t come up with these questions. They are part of a series going on some blogs this month called May is for Moms:

mothersdaylinkup

[The hosts of this linkup are Amy at Not Your Average Crazy, Samantha at Hooah and Hiccups, Amber at My Three Bittles, and Mandi at All My Happy Endings]

1.  How did I feel the moment I found out I was pregnant with you?

I was so excited.  I didn’t even wait to tell your daddy first.  I drove to the church and told the first person I saw, which was our organist, and then she said not to tell her, to go tell Greg.  So I did.

2.  Were you a wonderful surprise or carefully planned?

Definitely planned.  From our honeymoon I tried to get pregnant, but God had other things in mind.  You didn’t come until 4 1/2 years later and after a lot of trial and error.

3.  What was the most challenging time in your childhood?

Gosh, can’t remember anything in particular.  You were pretty easy. Didn’t sass back much, didn’t get into much trouble.  Just a little mama to your brothers.
me as a kid

4.  Did I worry more about you as a child or now that you’re an adult?

I always prayed for you and knew that God would take care of you.  When you got married, then I started to worry (just a little) about your walk with the Lord, but then He took care of that too.

5.  What was one thing that I thought was deeply important when you were a baby that I now realize did not matter at all?

Not to “baby” you too much, like sleeping with us.  Also keeping schedules.  I say, just throw all that out the window and do what you think is best for you and your baby.  They will only be babies for a short time, and you need to make the most of it. Enjoy them to the fullest.
I love my mama. Short, sweet, to the point.
2 responses »

  1. Deena Rabalais

    Love, Love, Love!!!!

    Reply
  2. Susan Gushue

    Your mom sounds like such a great mom. Of course I knew she must be because you are so great.

    Reply

Show some love!

