I’m Funny! I Swear!

Posted on

I’m funny, right? I can be sort of witty when I try real hard. Example: I’ve had at least 5 people this year tell me that my Facebook status updates crack them up. When they are having a bad day, they just hop on over to the FB and find my latest update, and all their worries and troubles go away.

Somehow that doesn’t translate to everything. Twitter? I can’t do it. Some folks are hilarious on Twitter. I’ll sit there, going through my feed, and laugh and laugh. They pack a pretty powerfully punny punch (you like my alliterations?) in a few short words. Twitter’s like the Mitch Hedberg of social media. Or tweeters are the Mitch Hedbergs… you get my point.

Hedberg during his Comedy Central Presents spe...

Hedberg in 1999

When it comes to writing something longer, like *cough cough* a post on this blog, my funny bone breaks down, jumps out the window, gets run over by a car….. and I don’t really find it again until I hop onto Facebook. What’s up with that?

So my LIFE goal for the short term is to find a way to be funny all the time. I should start writing my blog posts in spurts. I’ll write 2-3 sentences at a time, take a break for an hour, and continue on like that. It might take hours and hours, but it could be worth it. I could be famous one day.

I think that the best blogs are the ones that are a little bit silly, a little funny. And whilst I know that, I don’t really transfer it over to my bloggo. As soon as I click “New Post”, I get all serious and stuff, trying to be meaningful. People have enough meaning in their real lives. They hop on the Internet to be entertained! Last I checked, INTERNET is an acronym for I Need To Enjoy, Right Now, Entertaining Things.

For today though, I must be a serious professional and mold the minds of today’s youths. Wish me luck.

3 responses »

  1. Ha ha! Good luck on that one “children and being serious” complete oxymoron. Speaking of children and your blog title, my kids always provide me with hilarious status updates for facebook that usually includes some sort of bodily function or disaster of some sort that I have to get off my chest. So I can kinda relate.

    P.S. New follower from on BlogLovin From a blog hop. I’d love for you to check my blog out sometime. Have a great weekend!

    Heather from Mommy Only Has 2 Hands

    Reply
    • Haha – I’ll stop by your site too! I’m definitely interested in mom blogs at this point; I want to learn as much as possible from others’ experiences. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  2. You’re definitely funny! I remember a very embarrassing mishap (on my end) because you could always make me laugh!

    Reply

Show some love!

